Professor B.N. Basu has been awarded with the prestigious "The John R. Pierce Award 2023" for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics (former IVEC Award for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics). The award was established in 2002 to recognize outstanding contributions to the field.

The more details about the John R. Pierce Award can be found HERE.
The past recipient of the John R. Pierce Award can be accessed HERE.

Professor B.N. Basu is being felicitated with Lifetime Achievement Award of Vacuum Electronic Devices and Applications Society on 3rd December 2015 at Bangalore in a national conference organized by DRDO-Microwave Tube Research and Development Organisation. From left to right: Dr. S. Kamath, Dr. LM Joshi, Dr. SN Joshi with Professor B.N. Basu.


  • Recipient of John R. Pierce Award 2023 for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics
  • Distinguished Visiting Scientist of CSIR at CEERI-Pilani (1990)
  • IETE SVC Aiya Memorial Award (New Delhi, 1999)
  • VEDAS Lifetime Achievement Award (Bangalore, 2015)
  • Felicitation (2015): Felicitation by CSIR-Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute, Pilani, on the occasion of the retirement from active service at Banaras Hindu University, for immense contribution in the area of microwave tubes (Pilani, 2015)
  • ISM Microwave Pioneer Award (Bangalore, 2016)
  • Charter member, Technical Committee on Vacuum Devices of IEEE Electron Devices Society (1998-2003) (first ever committee)
  • ‘Golden Reviewer’ of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices
  • Life Fellow, Vacuum Electronic Devices and Applications Society, India
  • Lifetime Fellow of Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers, India
  • Member, Editorial Board of the Journal of Electromagnetic Waves and Applications
  • Member, DST Steering Committee on multi-institutional project gyrotron for fusion plasma heating
  • Chairman, ISRO committee for the development of travelling-wave tubes
  • Ex-Consultant to DRDO-MTRDC, Bangalore
  • Member, Executive Council, IFTM University, Moradabad, Uttar Paradesh


  • Investigator, DOE project: High Power Microwave Tubes (HPMT) 1978-1983 (budgetary: Rs. 99.84 lac)
  • Alternate Principal Investigator, DRDO project: Studies on slow and fast wave interaction structures for beam-wave interaction in TWTs (2000-2003) (budgetary: Rs. 29.7 lac)
  • Chief Coordinator, AICTE project: Basic and applied research on gyro-TWT amplifiers, (budgetary: Rs. 12 lac) (completed in 1998)
  • Chief Coordinator, MHRD project: Infrastructure development for the study of fast-wave structures (budgetary: Rs. 15 lac) (completed in 1995)
  • Investigator, DOE Project: Basic and applied research on MM cathode (budgetary: Rs. 50 lac) (completed in 1991)